What Is N? Contact N Events Releases Groups Archives News Mp3's People Links Home
  • Robin Hayward
  • Michael Duch
  • Viljam Nybacka
  • Morten J Olsen
  • Koen Nutters
  • Dirk Bruinsma
  • Bjornar Habbestad
  • Nicolas Field
  • Robert van Heumen
  • Alexandre Babel
  • Carlos Galvez Taroncher
  • Matthias Engler
  • Sakir Oguz Buyukberber
  • Magda Mayas
  • Anders Hana
  • Christophe Meierhans
  • James Beckett
  • Kjetil D. Brandsdal
  • Kjetil T. Mster
  • Jeff Carey
  • Dirk Bruinsma

    soprano and baritone sax, composition

    Active as a musician since early eighties, playing in groups such as Sumbur ten/five (with Han Buhrs), The Palinckx octet, Otolithen and Positive Nuns (with Jim Meneses). With his own group Blast (these days with co-founder Frank Crijns, Fabrizio Spera and Pd Conca) he has been playing since 1989, touring Europe, USA, Canada and Japan.

    Composing music for most of the groups he's playing in, his work also involves pieces for contemporary music performers; opera, pieces for small ensembles and solo works have been played over the years. He also wrote music for film, dance, theatre and multi-media productions.

    As improvising musician involved in projects with people like Evan Parker, Barry Guy, Fred Frith, Elliott Sharp, Tim Hodgkingson, Gunther Sommers, Martin Schutz, Axel Drner, Jaap Blonk, Saadet Trkoz and others.

    selected discographie:

    -BLAST: Puristsirup '92 (Vonk rec.), Wire Stitched Ears '95, Stringy Rugs '97, A Sophisticated Face '99 (all Cuneiform records), Altrastrata 03 (ReR Megacorp) -SUMBUR: Sumbur '93, (Organic Rec.) -POSITIVE NUNS: The Bible II '98 (Pantheistic rec.) -OTOLITHEN: Otholithen '95 (amf rec.), S.O.D. '97 (Cuneiform rec.)