What Is N? Contact N Events Releases Groups Archives News Mp3's People Links Home
  • TAPE THAT and 87 Central
  • New Band!
  • Lots of new releases
  • Bjørnar Habbestad solo/oslo
  • Habbestad collaborates with CARTE BLANCHE/E.C.Richardsen
  • Jeff Carey teaching SC3
  • N Event 22 Pictures
  • New N Events coming up in December!
  • Habbestad+Seijiro Murayama
  • Duch&Habbestad on tour with LEMUR
  • 26.09.07 Peabody Conservatory, Baltimore (USA)
  • News from Rune Grammofon
  • Gjerstad/Lonberg-Holm/Habbestad
  • New Release By ButtercupMetalPolish
  • N Stream is up!
  • New Liquid Composition
  • DBO R&D-week
  • Concertzender presents music of Jeff Carey
  • New track from USA/USB!
  • OfficeR: Mundane occurences and Presentations - CD on Lampse
  • Practicum 06a Opening
  • MoHa! Video
  • MoHa! - Raus Aus Stavanger
  • N Event at Sonic Acts 2006 (Amsterdam)
  • USA/USB hype in the WIRE
  • Pictures from Ultralyd euro tour
  • Sounds and Images from the
    seventh N-Event
  • humanelectric, Buyukberber/VanHeumen and SKIF material added
  • K&M in Bruxelles
  • New M/N/O/G Material: The Danziger Sessions
  • MoHa! review of live show
  • Mayas / Nutters / Olsen / Galvez Review
  • Numusic is closing in
  • MoHa! on Rune Grammofon
  • Transparency Project
  • Office-R(6) release on LAMPSE records
  • TAPE THAT Review of 'The Catalogue' performance.
  • Dirk Bruinsma/Morten J. Olsen
  • Mayas/Nutters/Olsen/Galvez soon to release on FMR records
  • N LIVE AT STEIM. Out now on A-Version records!
  • Interview with Anders and Morten
  • MoHa! New EP "Rock, meg i rauå"
  • Mayas / Nutters / Olsen / Galvez Quartet plays the Total Music Meeting 2005 in Berlin
  • 2 N events in Norway
  • Bjørnar Habbestad presents t3l4Rt_03
  • New Mayas Nutters Olsen Galvez mp3
  • Review of N collective record on X-OR
  • TAPE THAT Review
  • TAPE THAT Album released on HUMBUG
  • Phô review
  • Humbug records about to release PHO and TAPE THAT
  • Another new release from morten and anders (and frode and kjetil)
  • Recording of the latest N Event at STEIM
  • The N ensemble in the new Martin Butler Piece
  • New release from Morten and Anders
  • New release from Nicolas Field
  • N sampler review
  • Mr B featured on BBC Radio
  • PHô on disc
  • Check out this small version of the N Ensemble
  • N Collective CD
  • Morthana Release on Jazzaway
  • OfficeR Extended compilation appearance
  • Review of N collective record on X-OR


    N Collective

    by Ken Waxman
    15 November 2004

    Featuring a mix-and-match collection of players who are members of the n collective, News from Holland, Volume 1 (X-OR) provides a ten-track snapshot of improvisational trends in the Netherlands. The collective's oeuvre involves structured improvisations and so-called liquid compositions from its members. However, with the number of laptops on show, not to mention the electronics and amplified feedback in use, it's as if many of these sound pictures were taken with a digital camera. Still, the improvisations created with the musical equivalent of mechanical camera—acoustic instruments—are just as striking, if not more so, sort of like high quality single reflex shots in a presentation full of digital images.

    A case in point is the more than ten-minute "working with the popular forces", whose extended scrapes, ratchets, and wiggles come from four acoustic instruments. Involved are two guests plus two of the collective's founding members. Percussionist Morten J. Olsen and bassist Koen Nutters, who appear on five tracks each on News, both live in Amsterdam. Guests are Spanish bass clarinetist Carlos Gálvez, who plays with such Dutch New music ensembles as Maarten Altena's and LOOS; and Berlin-based pianist Magda Mayas, whose experience includes improv with The Necks drummer Tony Buck.

    Unsurprisingly involved with textures from both improv and New music, the tune takes its shape from irregularly pulsed bass clarinet arpeggios, machine gun-like percussion timbres, sprawling bass spiccato, and Mayas dampening the internal action of her strings. A pointillist assortment of tones that coalesce into an organic whole, it's a prime demonstration of how wooden marimba-like slaps, a ratcheting, irregular drum beat, and overblown altissimo smears from the reedist plus what sounds like walking footsteps—not walking bass—can be blended into a satisfying whole.

    The others, without Mayas, show up on "structure no. 1 (with composed fragment)", a large ensemble piece. Here unified trilling with glottal stops comes from three reedists: Gálvez, saxist Dirk Bruinsma—who has played in bands like The Palinckx octet and with British bassist Barry Guy—and Turkish-born bass clarinetist Sakir Oguz Buyukberber. Now a Dutch resident, Buyukberber also provides the swirling tone vibrations and whistles that mesh with Olsen's subtle drum accents and the swelling sound waves and samples from Robert van Heumen's laptop to make the "structure no. 1 (edit)"—a separate trio performance—exceptional as well.

    However, on the first tune, shrill, fluttering timbres and motorized puttering plus samples of an American radio news broadcast contributed by van Heumen and fellow laptopist Jeff Carey fit well with woodwind chirrups. All together these sounds meld with the pluck and sweep of ponticello strings from violist Gudrun Hrund Hardardottir and cellist Sasha Agranov. All's well until electronic loops reach stentorian proportions, drowning the others, and forcing the percussionist to bang his traps like child demanding to be let in a door. This introduces a voice saying, "stop by the club" as the sounds vanish.

    Some of the purported sine wave disturbances on other pieces result from feedback emanating from Bjørnar Habbestad's over-amplified flute. Someone who has performed as a soloist at festivals and with orchestras, on other tracks Habbestad's prepared axe adds mysterious pitches that are as cybernetic as acoustic. But even his unique, ratcheting tones can't save "pleasant is good". The set's nadir, the mix finds Olsen and Nicolas Field, another laptopist, creating electronic jiggles that morph into circular dance track beats that could easily come from simplistic drum machines and samplers.

    The next track, the three-minute "solitude sample" by van Heumen, doesn't add to anyone's luster either. Clicking electronic crackles, crunches, and whooshes, the sampled French and German voices heard make you imagine he's spinning the short wave radio dial as he repairs his instruments.

    Conceived to present flexible improvisations by an adaptable group of players, this limited edition CD exposes some ill-conceived electro-acoustic experiments, as well as a majority of tracks that can be admired. On the evidence here, n collective lives up to its limited mandate.